You are in the archives

Go back to the current page
Schedule / FRIDAY 15 OCTOBER

Candyman Live Score: Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe & Ensemble


Unsound previously presented the world premieres of the live scores to the hit TV series Stranger Things and Chernobyl, each an immersive, atmospheric experience in their own right. Now Unsound presents the premiere of Candyman Live by Robert Aiki Aubrey Lowe, a 70-minute show drawing on his music for the 2021 sequel to the horror classic. Robert says: ‘This presentation is an electro acoustic score that is the culmination of months of collaboration and investigation of the folklore attributed to the trauma of black bodies. The intention was to produce a sonic landscape that existed as a character within the film while honoring the cinematic legacy of the story as well as the universe created by Clive Barker.’ 

Lowe’s main instruments are his own voice, modular synthesisers and effects, field recordings and more. He will be joined on stage by a 15-person ensemble including artists Matthew Morandi, Randall Dunn, Brent Arnold, Hubert Zemler, Resina, musicians from Kraków's Spółdzielnia Muzyczna Contemporary Ensemble, and singers from the Polish Radio Choir (Chór Polskiego Radia). The result will be a memorable experience for fans of experimental music, film scores and horror.

Opening the evening is Aleksandra Słyż, a Polish composer and sound artist fascinated by the connections between the human body, technology and sound, performing with visual artist Maks Posio in a specially prepared show.

Co-presented with the Kraków Film Music Festival.