You are in the archives

Go back to the current page
←  Back



First conceived as an extension of Unsound 2020’s online edition, but having developed into a standalone project, the Intermission project is a time capsule of a year of upheaval, made up of words and music. By creating both a book and album, the aim is to create a unique interdisciplinary work joining different opinions, narratives, art forms and music genres—almost all commissioned especially for this publication. The album includes 15 tracks, while the book features 25 texts.

All copies of the book come with a digital album download code printed on a special bookmark. The digital album can also be purchased on its own. A double vinyl release will be released at the start of May, but can already be pre-purchased.

The Intermission book was edited by Michal Gulik, Gosia Plysa and Mat Schulz, while the album was compiled by Gosia Plysa and Mat Schulz.

Explore this website to find out more about the many wonderful contributors.

Purchase via the Unsound online store.

Purchase via Bandcamp.

The Intermission Album:

33EMYBW / Bastarda / DeForrest Brown, Jr. & James Hoff / Ben Frost / Tim Hecker, Agata Harz & Katarzyna Smoluk / Zosia Hołubowska & Julia Giertz / Weavings with Aho Ssan, Angel Bat Dawid, Dirar Kalash, Ellen Fullman, Księżyc, Laraaji, Nicolás Jaar, Paweł Szamburski, Resina, Rolando Hernandez & Wukir Suryadi / Jlin X SOPHIE / Lutto Lento / Moor Mother & Geng / Sam Slater, Hildur Guðnadóttir & Kári Grisey / Slikback / Varg2™ & VTSS / Chris Watson / Jana Winderen


The Intermission Book:

Agata Pyzik / Andrew Brooks / Andy Battaglia / Armen Avanessian & ≋h≋o≋m≋a≋r�� / Ayesha Hameed / Dave Tompkins / Ewa Majewska / Gamall Awad / Harmony Holliday / J.T. Roane / Jace Clayton / Jay Springett / Jennifer Lucy Allan / Kristen Gallerneaux / Luke Turner / Mat Schulz / Moor Mother / Olga Drenda / Philip Sherburne / S.J. Norman / Sean Dockray, James Parker & Joel Stern / Stephanie Philips / Steve Goodman / Sylwia Chutnik / Ting Ding & DeForrest Brown, Jr.